top of page

Mossbrook Swim on the Slow Fashion Movement

The In(finite) Earth team is incredibly excited to have Adelyn Hamilton, the founder of Mossbrook Swim, talk about slow fashion and what sustainability means to her business.

Special offer for readers: visit mossbrookswim.com and use code SLOWITDOWN at checkout for 10% off your order.



Mossbrook Swim is a handmade swimwear and bodywear company based out of Toronto that aims to design one-of-a-kind pieces while staying focused on sustainability. Making bathing suits started out as a hobby for me, as I had an obsession for designer swimwear and realized I could figure out how to make them myself. The feeling I got from wearing suits that I had made with my own hands was enough to have me glued to my sewing machine for an entire summer. I learned to perfect my skills and create the best quality bathing suits that I could. In 2018, Mossbrook Swim’s instagram page started taking custom orders for friends and one year later, the first collection of suits was launched. Mossbrook’s earthy designs are built on my love of the Canadian outdoors, nostalgic summers by the lake, and draw inspiration through movements in dance and elements in nature. I am proud to say that Mossbrook Swim supports the slow fashion movement by offering small batch, handmade collections and one-of-a-kind bathing suits made using sustainable processes from design to creation.

Today's Buying Culture

In today’s consumerist society, buying clothes has become an impersonal process associated with incredible waste. Large department stores turn designer fashion into cheap imitations in a matter of weeks. Canadians purchase considerably more clothing per year and as a result, these inevitably end up in landfills. We’ve become obsessed with low cost, disposable garments without realizing the environmental or ethical consequences, such as waste, pollution and sweatshops. Fortunately, slow fashion is starting to make a comeback and people are opting for small, sustainability focused brands. 



Slow Fashion Movement

I hadn’t heard much about slow fashion until after I started Mossbrook but I quickly became very familiar with the term once I realized it aligned perfectly with what I wanted Mossbrook to be about. Slow fashion is the concept of creating garments of better quality that will last longer and ultimately create less waste. It also emphasizes the artistry behind the making of a garment and brings back the personal aspect of buying clothing. Most importantly, it encourages the use of more sustainable processes from design to creation. Mossbrook suits are made-to-order which means they are only made once an order has been placed. Not only does this limit overproduction, but it also allows customizations to be possible and makes the process of ordering a swimsuit a more personal experience. Scrunchies are made out of the scraps leftover from swimsuits or sourced from remnants of local fabric stores which would have otherwise gone to waste. Sewing patterns are laid out digitally to optimize the amount of fabric that is being used and reduce waste caused by unutilized space. Single-use plastics are kept at a minimum: Suits are packaged in reusable bikini bags, to store wet garments after a day at the beach, and shipped out in 100% biodegradable mailers. These mailers just need to be thrown in the compost bin and will completely biodegrade within 90 days.


The slow fashion movement highlights artisanship, and by supporting a small fashion brand you are celebrating the skills of the people involved in creating them. When a Mossbrook suit is purchased, it is made specifically for that customer and is carefully crafted after the order has been placed. Collections are small, materials are locally sourced and no two suits are exactly the same making them exclusive and limited edition. I try to work with local artists as much as possible which is where Mossbrook’s signature lining comes from. I had always dreamed of having a signature feature that would make my pieces recognizable without it being visible when they are worn. One day, my best friend made some sketches she thought represented my brand, we repeated the print on the computer and now it’s on the inside of every suit.



These are just a few things that represent the idea of slow fashion for me. Though small, they do add up and make a difference in the long run. There is always more that can be done to make Mossbrook Swim the most sustainable brand that it can be. I am currently working towards using completely recycled fabrics made from regenerated materials such as plastic water bottles as well as fishing nets. By purchasing a swimsuit from Mossbrook Swim, you are supporting a small, female-run business with a focus on slow fashion.


For 10% off your order, visit mossbrookswim.com and use code SLOWITDOWN at checkout.


About the Author


My name is Adelyn Hamilton and I am from Pickering, Ontario just outside of Toronto. I graduated in 2017 from the University of Guelph with a degree in Biomedical Sciences. Before my undergrad, I was struggling to make a decision between fashion design, or becoming a veterinarian and opted for the latter because it seemed like the safe choice. 4 years of dissections and labs made me realize that I was not destined to be working in any health related industry, and that I wanted to explore more creative career paths. I started working as a dance instructor and choreographer for multiple studios and revisited my dream of fashion design by making swimsuits for myself for fun. A couple years later, Mossbrook Swim became a reality and the first collection was officially launched. I love that I am able to share my passion for creating beautiful pieces through my business. I am proud to say that every bathing suit is handmade and love that I get to connect with women by creating something unique for each of them.

214 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page