top of page

Surviving My Meat-Free Week

Doing a week without meat was a fun personal challenge that I would recommend to anyone. Along with having a positive environmental impact, I learned a bunch of new recipes and felt super healthy by the end.


To learn more about the impact I had on the environment, check out our last post Why You Should Try a Week Meat-Free. Key impacts include:

· Saving 9 animal lives

· Save 30,000 liters of water

· Stop 225 square of forest destruction

· Stop the creation of 150 pounds of CO2 gas


To challenge myself further, I decided to attempt a half marathon, which I had never completed before, to prove that a veggie-based diet can help with athletics. Aside from making one stop at Tim’s for Gatorade, I was able to complete the run. I was joined by friend Evan Mckenzie in collaboration with his blog Wiki-done.


Check out their video to see some highlights!



Another great aspect of the week was learning some great new recipes. The main resource that I used was a blog called “Cooking Outside The Lines,” which has some great options for meat-free meals. Some highlight meals that I would 10/10 recommend trying are:



Ingredients: Rice noodles, mushrooms, broccoli, sweet peppers, arugula sprouts, carrots, stir fry sauce



Ingredients: 2 eggs, 2 handfuls of spinach, 5 grape tomatoes, grass-fed butter, 1 piece of toast




Ingredients: Kale, bone broth, garlic powder, olive oil, shiitake mushrooms, rice, coconut milk




Finally, a week without meat had the effects that much of my research claimed. The first aspect of this was how I was feeling after meals. I found that I did not feel so tired and heavy and that I could get right into studying, working out, or whatever I planned to do. Moreover, I found that my energy levels were moderately higher. I stopped my usual habit of drinking coffee in the afternoon and found that I had enough energy to get through the day. Many people felt that I would have slightly less power at the gym, which was something that I did not experience.


Overall, I have only positive things to say about my week without meat. This is something that I will definitly do again in the future. I will also try cutting meat out of certain meals throughout the week and limiting to smaller amounts. This was a reminder to me that small changes can also have a huge impact. You do not need to flip your life upside-down to do something good for the environment. It is as easy as a week without meat.

92 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page